Why The “PS3Arc.com” Website Is A Fake

There are plenty of people out there just waiting to try and pull the wool over your eyes when it comes to exclusives and official tie-ins.  PS3Arc, to me, is the product of one of those people.For a start lets take a look at the evidence.

1) Images of the “Arc” / “Gem” / “Wand” controller are available all across the Internet.  The only problem is…they’re concepts, just like the one you can see above in the image.  As you can see here on the T3 website, the above image appears in the mock-up gallery.

However, in true T3 style, we couldn’t help but flex our visionary powers once more to conjure up what we think the ‘Gem’ could end up looking like. Calling on the help of our creative design friends at The Alloy….we’ve now realised our own take on Sony’s PS3 motion controller.

When Sony feel like sending out more information on the now-delayed controller they’ll do it through the usual channels, which leads me to my next point.

2) “PRESS@PS3ARC.COM”?? Seriously?  If press wanted to contact Sony with regards to this highly anticipated controller they’ll do it through the usual channels such as the press and assets site for each region, telephone and through email.  Why any major company would invite anyone to email them on what would be an exclusive contact address I have no idea, but it’s not Sony.

3) The SPIDER-MAN font.  Since abandoned last year at GamesCom when Sony unveiled the Slimline PS3 this typeface has been phased out of circulation, including on the packaging and PS3 firmware itself.  Heck, Sony aren’t even likely to use this for the re-booted Spider-Man films anymore so it makes absolutely no sense for the font to be used in an upcoming PS3 motion controller teaser.

4) What the hell is a “Kownage Expansion Pack”??  A quick Google search of Kownage reveals them to be a “GAME HAX” site, with any other Kownage reference pointing back towards this “site”.  Sony wouldn’t need to launch an Expansion Pack for one simple reason.  What would they be expanding?  Any support for this product would likely be delivered across PSN, or failing that a disc based update.  So again, no legitimacy here.

5) Website under construction?  A professional web-design company representing a large multi-national conglomerate such as Sony would never post that.  Never in a million terrabytes!

6) What the fuck is that graphic/thing???  Answers on an email…

What we have here folks is a site designed to cash in on the upcoming motion controller under development from Sony, one that does an awful job of doing so may I add.  There are some out there who are determined to believe that the site is in fact legitimate…like this guy JustinTriumphant…which you have to watch and make you own mind up whether or not he’s certifiably insane. (He’s not…pick your brains and you’ll get the humor)

My two cents?  I believe the person who produced the site has done so in order to get some form of traffic flowing there simply to hold Sony to ransom for the domain URL at a later date.  It’s likely the most reasonable assumption to make at this stage and unfortunately it’ll probably pay off for the guy - providing the controller is called Arc that is.

Conclusion:  PS3ARC.com is a FAKEEEEEEE!

Post to Twitter Post to Digg Post to Facebook Post to Reddit Post to StumbleUpon

Comments

16 Responses to “Why The “PS3Arc.com” Website Is A Fake”
  1. JustinTriumphant says:

    Uhh, I don’t see how you can disregard my days of research so haphazardly. Your post doesn’t even make sense! Why would someone do this for profit? Who would be that unscrupulous? No one, that’s who. Sorry if I have just a little more faith in my fellow man than that.

    Maybe you’ve never seen a little move called Pay It Forward, but, more than anything, that’s a movie about trust. If trusting my fellow man is wrong, OLC, then I would prefer to be in the group that still feels that way.

    Also: CASE. CLOSED.

  2. Eric says:

    wow. guys, EVERYONE knows it’s fake. you don’t have to prove it to anyone.

  3. :) I really do get the video. Makes sense to point out the flaws.

  4. Not everyone. Search Google and you’ll see quite a few asking questions based upon the points raised here. There truly are some gormless folks.

  5. thewilleffect says:

    Real or fake, its for certain that no one outside of Sony knows a damn thing about Arc, Jarc, Bark, whatever the “harc” it’s going to be called. Until then, I’ll gladly entertain anything as long as this thing actually turns into something a wee (as in a lot) more substantial than the Eyetoy turned out.

  6. God, the Eyetoy.

    That thing was only good as a webcam for your PC. Shame that for the “|Wand/Gem/Ball on a stick” you require one PlayStation Eye.

  7. ShaunIsWrong says:

    The EyeToy wasn’t so bad, Microsoft did decide to blatantly rip it off, and not even the updated version, the Natal tech is comparable to the EyeToy for the PS2 with a second camera. Don’t let the hype fool you, the new PS3 motion controller is 1:1, as opposed to Natal that is no where near that. Natal is also plagued with lag. The PS3 motion controller is pure quality, I’m sure people who strictly go by hype didn’t see that.

  8. I didn’t say that Natal was any way better than the ‘PS31:1′ but lets be honest, neither are exactly the king :)

  9. deanb says:

    @JustinTriumphant
    I think you need to look up on URL squatters if you don’t think anyone would do this for profit.
    Anyway as I pointed to Shaun the biggest sign this isn’t an official site is a simple Whois. Its hosted by UnderHost one of those $6 a month hosting companies, compared to say the official Playstation sites hosted by SCIE

    Also the 3D mock-up has been around for months, most folks got enough shots from E3 to build up a decent mock up.

  10. electroshockwave says:

    I thought it had already been confirmed that ps3arc.com was a fake and that Sony have registered playstationarc.com http://www.destructoid.com/sony-registers-playstation-arc-related-domain-161497.phtml

  11. @electroshockwave – Yeah, the Destructoid article I wasn’t even aware of. Regardless I was just pointing out everything wrong with the site as I said before there are people who believe its real. /sad.

  12. revealer says:

    see here its not fake its been anounced in the game devoloepers conference

    http://www.gamepro.com/article/news/214249/playstation-arc-trademark-filed-in-japan/

    STUPID PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (O.o)

    ITS BEEN MADE STUPID SHAUN

  13. Please be a new Internet meme :)

  14. uglybaby says:

    @Shaun McIlroy – I just stumbled into this page and find it quite amusing. Where’s my time belt?

  15. revealer says:

    @Shaun McIlroy

    ????

  16. “ITS BEEN MADE STUPID SHAUN”

    Totally random eh?

Discuss: